OK GO!

Things

Posted on: Friday November 11, 2011

The little cough. The feeling of fighting something off. The rear brake dragging sensation. Just a sore throat. Not that bad. An early night needed. Tomorrow. Shit. Tomorrow. The unusual need to nap. Denial. Aches. A little fever. Sickness.

‘Are you sick again?’
‘Stop being sick!’
‘Still got that cough?’
‘You’re always getting sick.’

Only I’m not sure that I am. Other than a stomach bug back in April, the last time I had any kind of cold was back at the start of the year. That was Whooping Cough, and it stuck around for almost six months, wiping out most of the year’s good riding. I am, however, beginning to consider myself susceptible to reparatory infection when things get stressful. I’m not typically a ‘stressed’ person per se, but I’ve had plenty of excitement starting a new job, nurturing new relationships, thinking about preparing for big races, loving my girls, being as physical as I can and spending up a lot of spare clock cycles on the mulling-over of things for Baum and Figital.

All good things. All, in their own little ways little straws upon the camel’s back.

This story is usually long and drawn out. I don’t like taking antibiotics, so I usually try to just rest up and get well. Usually that fails because I’ll stay up late spending my spare ‘sick time’ reading, watching or designing something instead of properly resting. The cough moves down to the chest where it sticks, I decide to get serious and go to the doc. Doc prescribes antibiotics and in the short version of the story, I get better with some month-long residual hacking. In the director’s cut, I get ‘better’, go back to hard training with a depleted immune system and wind up more sick several weeks later, repeat the above 1-3 times before crawling into the naturopath’s office, drink some horrible concoction and get back on track.

This time I just skipped the western medicine bits and booked a slot with the naturopath. A slam of immuno-goodies, tapering down to what looks like just a magnesium and B-complex to last the training program. Fuck being sick. Fuck relapse.

The good news is I think the physio work is helping. The 30-rep deep-lower-ab movement that used to make me shake and sweat is not not-so-hard. I’m taking longer to fatigue on the glute movements (hip extension to bridge) and I can actually balance steadily on one foot. That one is getting bumped up to eyes closed balancing. Normal human abilities here I come!

 

Just today:
Woke up feeling like shit, with no voice and eyes full of puss. That’s what I get for spending most of last night alternating coughing into my hands and rubbing my (very sore) eyes.

No training.
No work.
Rest.

Leave a Reply

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

On the bike

CrossFit benchmarks

100 Burpees: 11:07 10:32
50 Burpees: 4:24
Angie: 30:47 (60 pull-ups only)
Annie: ---
Cindy: 13 rounds
Dianne: 39:07 (scaled)
Elizabeth: 24:47 (scaled)
Fight Gone Bad (3 rounds): 311
Filthy Fifty: 31:16
Fran: 10:31
Grace (35 kg): 4:25
Hangover Cure: 8 rounds
Helen: 11:10
Jeremy: 13:33
Kelly: 36:09
Linda (scaled): 1:17:04
Michael: 32:30
Murph: 54:17
Nancy: 17:30 (scaled to 35 kg)
Nate: 7 rounds (scaled)
Nicole: 3 rounds, 19 pullups

Row 1k: 3:26.3
Row 2k: 7:15.4
Row 500m: 1:35.7
Run 5k: 24:00

Weightlifting PBs

1RMs
Bench Press: ---
Clean: 70kg
Jerk: 70kg
Press: 52.5kg
Snatch: 47.5kg+
Squat (back): 102.5kg
Squat (front): 85kg (x2)
Deadlift: 130kg
CrossFit Total: 623

 

3-20RMs
3RM OHS: 55kg
3RM Front squat: 82.5kg (x5)
3RM Back squat: 90kg
3RM Deadlift: 130kg
 
5RM Press: 45kg
5RM Front squat: 82.5kg
5RM Back squat: 90kg
5RM Deadlift: 120
 
20RM Back squat: 65kg

Archives

